Tsunami 165 -Vs- Tempest 170

Tsunami 165 Vs. Tempest 170 (both in plastic)

Please, let’s stick with Wilderness systems… one more variable and I’ll go crazy :slight_smile:

Ideally I would like to hear from people who have experience with these two boats, but I’ll take any useful comments from anyone.

Because I am a beginner and my height (5 – 4”), someone advised the Tsunami 140. Later I decided on the 160 (more storage) or 165 (for my larger waist! :slight_smile: but, I don’t see too many Tsunamis on sale now during this time of the year. But I do still see sales new (and used) of the Tempest 170 which seems to indicate this is a popular boat. Now, there is a 170 boat in my local store for $1100 on sale (normally $1500…), which is a great deal and I am tempted!

The salesman told me that there was not much of a difference between the two boats in the longer sizes (over 16 ft). Someone else told me that the Tempest was more “tipsy” than the Tsunami 160.

So whom do I believe?..I mean, salesmen are salesmen after all… Does anyone know the actual differences of these 2 boats?

tsunami vs tempest
tsunami is a big fat barge of a boat designed for overweight people with no desire to develop their skills.Or for people looking for a huge sloppy fitting cockpit and huge volume for no good reason.

Tempests are designed to fit the paddler properly and will do anything a real sea kayak should.

I’m 6’1 180lbs and a tempest 170 fit me about right, i think at 5’4 you should try the smaller fitting tempest 165.

Check out the archives
http://www.paddling.net/message/showThread.html?fid=advice&tid=490381

Man by the name of Flatpick had a little something to do with the design of both. Very knowledgeable.

Paddle Them
Go rent or borrow them for a few hours. Try the Tempest 165 also if you aren’t too heavy.

first
you want to be in a Tempest 165…not a 170…you will swim in that…

tempest…fast a bit more of what has been termed ‘a performance boat’…think of suv vs a sportscar…