Turning a kayak quickly....

Quick question…I’ve been kayaking about a year now and was considering entering my first race for some fun. The race is 6 miles on a circular course around a series of buoys. I’ve been trying to find the quickest way to change course after rounding a buoy without loosing forward speed. So far, the quickest way I’ve found is to edge the kayak on the side opposite the way I want to turn and give a good sweeping stroke to the same side I’m leaning. Is this the correct way to make a direction change? If I edge into the direction of the turn, I can’t get the power into my turning stroke…which is obviously on the high side of the boat…not to mention that it’s more difficult to maintain my balance on edge while taking a powerful stroke on the high side of the boat.

I’m kinda self taught so any pointers would be appreciated :slight_smile:

Wish I could help
In my CD Solstice gts I have to lean until the skirt is awash and still it won’t turn. Even the rudder doesn’t help.

It sure goes fast in a straight line though.

Yup
Outside edge works well with many boats.

yup carving a turn
You can accentuate the turn by heeling to the outside taking a sweep and then planting the paddle on the high side in a turning high brace position with the paddle edge that is forward a little farther from the hull than the rear edge…

and hang on

I like to
Lean outside and hold that edge through the following strokes - Start with a strong sweep on the outside of your turn, and concentrate on rotating around and pulling water under your butt at the end of the sweep. Then plant your inside blade into a bow rudder for a couple seconds, link that into an inside forward stroke real close to that high side and then repeat the outside sweep, bow-rudder, tight inside forward stroke again.

By this point you’ll be turned 360 degrees, so keep turning until you come back around to the course the rest of the racers just took off on. :stuck_out_tongue:

bow rudder