Two Kayaks on a 2015 Toyota Rav4??

Hello,

I am hoping someone here can help me. I own 2015 Rav4 XLE and I just purchased a pair of 9.5 ft Kayaks for my wife and I. I have explored options for kayak roof racks, and all the options are starting to intimidate me. I am looking for the best rack I can get to hold both kayaks. I want them to be secure and easy to load. I’d rather not have a bunch of lines and straps all over the place, so the fewer places I need to tie down the better.

My Rav4 only has the the two bars running the length of the roof. I am assuming I will need to purchase crossbars to attach to the existing bars, and then on top of those crossbars attach kayak mounts. I am new to this so any suggestions would be very helpful and greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your help…

-Dustin

"Bunch of lines and straps"
Part of owning a kayak is learning to attach it securely to your vehicle so it doesn’t detach and become a lethal object traveling at 70mph. For that you need two straps across the middle at one at each end.

No one enjoys loading a kayak and dealing with all those straps. But it’s not optional, it’s necessary.

Your assumptions are pretty much correct
You will need bars to run across the existing rails on your car.

Check out the Thule and Yakima websites and you’ll see plenty of options.

I carry two longer kayaks on Thule Hullavators on my Santa Fe. They are an expensive option but are probably the easiest solution to use short of a dedicated trailer. Don’t worry too much about straps. You will need 4 per boat for a totally secure fit, but with cam straps they are very easy to use; I can have two boats loaded by myself in less than 10 minutes.

Malone universal fit cross bars
Malone cross bars in the 50" size are relatively cheap on Amazon and will hold two kayaks flat on top. I use cradles on my car, but you can also use J bars or even surf board pads.