Two Piece Paddles

Can someone (or everyone) fill me in on any down sides to the two piece paddle? Obviously easier to transport, carry as a spare etc, but wat is the downside? Also anything I should be watchful for?

Thanks

2 piece…
Shipping is much less on a 2 pieceand most can adjust the feather…

Downside… can cost more and might have ferrule problems (rare).

Shipping
Yes Grayhawk - reason i asked this is twofold

• Shipping Costs - I wanted a professionally made Greenland Paddle, but apparently you just can’t get them here in Australia. Shipping on one paddle was around $250 due to excessive length. A split with carbon fibre ferrule is $48 to ship! the paddle itself is only $160-185. (extra is for two piece)
  1. And sure this may get some comments, as a novice I am interested in carrying a Euro and GP, and figured 2 two piece paddles would be easier to store on board, and swap as I go.

Was curious if a two piece flexes more ie. loses rigidity

Any horror stories or thumbs up would be great!

OK Greenland…
Not that hard to make an acceptable GP after a few tries… Plans and directions all over the place…

Good luck…

I intend to
But want one I know is right first to compare to! Call me lazy! also seen directions for make your own carbon fibre GP…mmmm

now thats fun!

2 piece
Cost more, weigh more, ferrule can loosen up or jam, joint can be a weak point. Good designs minimize those negatives.

That said, I’ve found 1-piece euro paddles to be a PITA for touring – there’s no good way to stow them on the boat if you want to switch paddles.

I have 4 piece Lendal
It is solid as a rock when assembled. It also breaks down to a very small package if necessary. Some 2 piece paddles move a little bit. But the main problem is usually getting sand in the joint.

The worst downside is
if you have 2 two piece paddles alike and you grab 2 of the same ends.

Happened to a friend of mine 3 weeks ago. Made her paddle 5 miles with half a paddle.

Paddlin’ on

Richard