Ultra-Sil Dry Sacks

The store where I often buy things were out of my favorite brand of dry bags.

They did have Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Dry Sacks.

Going by what it says on the packaging, the fabric is waterproof, the seams are sealed and it has a waterproof closure.

Since I have no experience with them, I’m a bit nervous. I don’t want to find out the hard way that they don’t work.

Anyone used these bags?

tests say: no
These are the partly transparent bags, right? If so:

BackpackingLight.com did a test and found that the seam on the circular-bottom bags leaks a lot (get the straight bottom seam), and that the opening on all the bags leaks. They found that the fabric itself did not leak.

A test at jwbasecamp.com found that the fabric itself leaks.

I read the methodologies but can’t remember them, only that I found the tests persuasive. I won’t be relying on any silnylon bags. I’ve had good experiences with silnylon pack covers and silnylon tarps, so maybe I’m being too harsh.

I have a longer writeup of the tests of various bags, if you’re interested in all things drybag.

– Mark

too delicate
I’ve used them as liners for bike bags, never used them in kayak use but my gut sense is that they are too delicate for jamming stuff in and jamming in a kayak. Essentially they are very high end tough plastic bags.

absolute garbage!
Sea to Summit usually has decent gear but these “dry” bags are just useless.

The sealing tape comes off in no time.

Gnarlydog

mine work fine
I filled them up with water and they never leaked. Put them in a hatch filled with water and they were fine, a little moisture inside, but no more than any other nylon drybag.

I’ve been using them for about 3 years now and haven’t had a single one show signs of wear. My oldest bag I’m using as my ditty bag for soaps, toothpaste, medicine, etc that I carry around to many places, probably used 250 times a year. That bag is still fine.