Understanding Streamflow Data

I am new to kayaking in rivers. I don’t understand how to read the USGS Real-Time Data on Streamflow. All I know is that I was on the Brazos River in Texas over the Memorial weekend. A couple of places were pretty low and I had to port my kayak at one point and ended up with some pretty bad scrapes on some rocks in shallow water. Depth height/feet I am guessing is just the depth of the river. I don’t understand discharge ft3/s and long-term median flow. Can someone explain those terms.

Some Rough Info

– Last Updated: May-28-09 11:51 PM EST –

Gauge height, or "gage" height as the USGS spells it, is usually arbitrary. Years ago, someone nailed a big ruler to the side of a bridge pier to keep track of river elevations, and ever since then, the gauge readings have been based on that original measurement method. Okay, it may not ALWAYS be that simple, but usually it's something like that. Therefore, the gauge reading is only meaningful if you are familiar with that particular section of that particular stream.

Discharge in cubic feet per second is also meaningful only in local context. A flow volume of 3000 cubic feet per second on one stream might be suicidal paddling conditions during a major flood, while the same volume of water moving down another, much larger river, might be associated with a very slow current during summertime drought conditions where you end up needing to drag your boat half the time. Again, you need to be familiar with what the various flow rates mean on a particular stretch of a particular stream.