Universality of Gunwales

Hello all!

Total noob here (in all respects). I’m about to embark on the restoration of a ‘77 fiberglass Mohawk. It currently has banged up, aluminum gunwales which I’d like to replace. I’ve seen a lot of options regarding materials, vinyl and ash seeming to be the most preferred. My question is, if I purchase gunwales pre-made (I’d obviously have to fit them to the ‘noe) are they universal? Supposing there are both universal and non-universal options, are universal options worth it?

Thanks for dealing with my noobishnish. I hope to become a valuable member of the community one day.

Andrew

p.s., assuming it hasn’t already caught on, I hope my “‘noe” abbreviation is acceptable. I did a similar thing with barbecue. As I don’t like Australian vernacular I started saying “‘cue” in place of barbecue. I’ve heard plenty of others say it, so it’s probably not my innovation alone, but I’d like to think I have a somewhat unique influence on l’academie anglaise :wink:

Gunwales can vary a lot.
Ash has to be steamed into place, Aluminum has a lot of memory. Vinyl might be the easiest to work with, since you can’t order 1977 Mohawk gunwales from a catalogue.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply. As I’m going to be using the ‘noe with my 10 y.o. son, I’m worried aluminum presents an unacceptable risk of laceration (assuming we break a gunwale and it becomes dangerous).

Then again, I suppose a piece of wood could easily turn itself into a spear.

Aluminum is very flexible and malleable. Even a wrapped canoe will not usually break aluminum gunwales. It just folds them up. Ash is much more likely to splinter.

1 Like

You will have way more to worry about if you manage to snap an aluminum gunwales.

Vinyl would be pretty easy to do. Just need to rivet it on, which can be done with a hand riveter. No special skills or significant time required. Just drill new holes.

1 Like