unstable canoe

I’ve been canoing and kayaking since 1971. In '73 I got a Grumman 16 ft canoe. A great boat. But I gave away both my kayak and the my Grumman. I just got a 17 ft Grumman Eagle from a fiend who never used it. I have a question for anyone. The boat is un-useable because it is very unstable. In calm conditions on flat water, I’ve tried it with a variety of weight in it and with just me(190LBS), sitting perfectly still the boat wobbles near the tipping point. I am an experienced canoer and kayaker. I have been in class 3 rapids and have been dumped in lots of different conditions. I fished from my kayak and my canoe. I canoe all year round. I can’t figure out what is wrong. The sheet metal is extremely flimsy. Does nayone have any thoughts, suggestions comments? If not I may have to get another boat.

MJ

It’s not the design
Unless there is something wrong with your particular boat, I don’t find the Grumman Eagle unstable.

I’ve had one for a decade or so (bought used) and I’ve paddled it both solo and tandem for many miles, including a little bit of Class I whitewater. Never had a problem–only been over once, when a combination of two 250 lb. paddlers managed to upset it.

So, I guess I don’t know what the problem could be. I don’t paddle mine often anymore, because I usually paddle solo, but I’ve lent it to completely inexperience paddlers and they didn’t have any problem.

“,the boat wobbles near the tipping
point.” What do you mean, tipping point? We usually mean when the boat is leaned way, way over in a test of secondary stability.

Or do you mean the boat has too little primary stability? Some canoes, like the V-bottomed Mad River Explorer, are a bit twitchy when dead level but firm up quickly when leaned. With a full load on the bottom, such canoes no longer feel unstable.