upgrade from Perception Acadia?

I’ve been using my Perception Acadia now for > 10 years. It’s a very good general purpose kayak … fishing, lakes, slow rivers, etc. It’s only 12.5 ft long so not bad for maneuvering streams.

However, now I want to take the next step up to something better for larger lakes, maybe even some ocean. Would love some suggestions. I am 5’-11", 190lb … intermediate kayaker.

Thx.

Rob

Lots of info

– Last Updated: Aug-08-16 12:56 PM EST –

in the gear guide and reviews sections.

Just about anything
Seriously, the universe of boats that would be better suited for big lakes and maybe ocean over the Acadia is huge. And you are close on to the average paddler size, so you have more than anyone who needs a small or very large paddler’s boat.

There is some summer left. Can you get someplace to demo boats, maybe even pay someone for an hour of pointers, before trying to sort this out via the computer while the snow blows up to the windows?

Thanks

– Last Updated: Aug-09-16 1:11 AM EST –

Thanks anyway

Here’s a starting list.
Current Designs Prana, Current Desigbs Caribou, Current Designs Cypress, Current Designs Gulfstream, or Sirocco, P&H Cetus, Valley Nordcapp, Valley Etain, Stellar Intrepid, Eddyline Raven. If you really want to step up–NC Expedition, or an NC 17 footer.

Likely the q6 ft boats will work too
Thus at least doubling the above list. And Wilderness Systems boats (that can be found used and cheap) too.

Enjoy the journey!
An Acadia was my first boat.Followed by many kayaks and canoes.

Good ideas

– Last Updated: Aug-09-16 1:27 PM EST –

Thanks.
I have a cedar strip kayak build underway right now ... Redfish Spring Run. It will be roughly 16'7" long.

Realistically, it will be a year or two to finish it, with all the stuff on my plate.
In the meantime I am thinking something in the 14' to 15'6" length would be nice. I want to keep weight down so not to kill my back.
Also, want more glide and speed than my tubby Acadia.