Upper Missouri River trip

My son and I are planning a trip to the upper Missouri the last two weeks in June. We are planning on doing the whole 149 miles from Ft. Benton to James Kipp. My son goes to college in Duluth Mn so we have made a few trips into the BWCA, the Apostle Islands and other shorter river trips in Mn and Wi. So we are not total novices when it comes to kayak tripping.

I’ve only seen pictures of the area on the BLM web site and following leads from this web site. I noticed a lack of trees; this looks more like a high desert area, never paddled that; always had lots of trees and brush and poison ivy.

We plan on taking water with us about 5 gal. each kayak and a filter as a back up. Is the river water drinkable after filtering or is there agricultural/mining runoff to be concered about?

The BLM said there was a lot of wildlife to be seen, but they didn’t mention bears. Do I need to bring my bear spray and ropes to hang the food?

What’s the weather like at that time of year?

Who would you recomend to shuttle our car to Kipp?

Any other words of wisdom would be very helpful.

Upper Missouri
Great Trip!

You will really enjoy this river trip. There are two very good outfitters in Ft Benton. Both have web sites. Check under Missouri River Trips-Montana. They give you pictures and lots of information on the river. I ran this section four years ago in the first week of June. You will find excellent campsites on the section from Ft. Benton to Judith Landing. Beyond Judith Landing the sites are more primitive. Bring your five gal of water. It can be refilled at four places on the river. It is possible to filter the Missouri’s water, but it is so silt ladden that you would need to let it settle before prefiltering it.