Upper Peninsula Canoeing

My wife and I are coming back to the UP for our second year in a row this september and wish to hike and canoe some more of the yoop that we missed last year.most of our canoeing last year was done at sylvania.I have very little whitewater experience and she has none so we want to basically stay on flat water.I can handle 1+ ripples maybe two but dont want to try it with a loaded canoe.I just bought a copy of canoeing michigan rivers by dennis and date thru the mail and was sad to find out they left the tahquemenon out.i was wanting info on the upstream end west of i think its newbury.looks like a huge swamp up there and i do like swamps.The book and aerial images have turned me onto a few possible creeks besides the tahq though.The fox river below seney looks nice and the book mentions the spreads which is visible on the images and looks like my kind of place.big cattail swamp the book says.also they neglected to report on the manistiques lower end below seney refuge but did say it has a lot of backwaters which i confirmed on the images.also indian river down near indian lake has spreads.one thing I found out from the images i can find nothing on at all is the west branch of manistique.it goes up the west side of the refuge and looks to have many nice beaches.could anyone giv info on the fox,lower manistique,west branch manistique and lower indian river,theirs very little info on the web and any other suggestions would be appreciated.We want isolated areas that have exploring potential on water or land with potential camping spots though swamps are cool too.

Thanks fo any help.

Al

Paddling Michigan
In addition to the book you have, the book Paddling Michigan by Hillstrom has information on areas to paddle in the Upper Peninsula including Tahquamenon.

big two hearted