Used Klepper questiona

I’m new to all this, tho I’ve done a bit of paddling on borrow kayaks. Anyway, I’m looking at buying an older used Klepper, anything that I should look out for? Any trouble areas? I’m a bit of a wood worker so repairing or fabbing frame parts won’t be an issue. What’s a decent price for a used older unit? Thanks for any help

Try here
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Bagboater/

or here

http://www.foldingkayaks.org/

Klepper
You might also try calling Long Haul Products of Colorado. They are making their own improved version of the Klepper and take trades and refurbish Kleppers too. These are good people to buy from. They won’t sell anything that isn’t right.

I have an Aerius 1 Expedition that I bought used from Mark at Long Haul a few years ago. I think I paid about $2,000 for it and it is still in like new condition. I believe mine was new in 1996. I was happy to get and Expedition model, but would think hard about it now as it is considerably heavier than the standard model and there is no functional benefit for the average user. The difference is that the Hypalon hull is made of heaveier gauge material, and there are very wide and heavy extra rub strips along the bottom and sides to make the boat more abrasion proof. If you plan on dragging the thing over rocks for miles and miles, then these are good. Most owners are a little bit more careful than that.