used WW kayak selection advice

Howdy all,

I’m a rank beginner at whitewater kayaking. I got bitten by the bug last year floating down the Rogue River in Oregon in an inflatable kayak. I decided then and there to get a “real” (hard-shelled whitewater) kayak. I signed up for a class at the YMCA and I’m learning the basics.

I figure that I want a river runner, for two reasons: 1) I want to do multi-day trips, and 2) It seems to me that if I can only afford one boat, then it should be something that can handle big water. The way I see it, if I want to get into playboating then I can get a play boat in a year or two to complement the river runner. By the way I’m 5’11" tall and weigh 205 pounds.

Money is a bit tight right now, and I can’t afford a new boat. I live in rural Southwestern Oregon, and used river runners don’t come up for sale all that frequently. I see that there is a Pyranha H3 255 for sale about 200 miles away, and I’ll be driving out that way next week on business.

So I was wondering what advice you more-advanced paddlers might have for when I go to see this boat. What kind of things should I watch out for? Do you have any feedback on my choice of a river runner?

More help …
There are a few folks who post here who paddle whitewater, not a lot.

Boatertalk.com forum might be a better place to meet whitewater paddlers in your area. I paddled the big boat you are looking at in surf and it had plenty of volume when I weighed the same as you…I’m not very experienced in whiteater but I assume it will be fine for a first boat. Check the outfitting that everything is solid and no hardware is rusted out. Hull should be in good shape. Whitewater boats are pretty simple.

another site

– Last Updated: Apr-11-09 9:41 PM EST –

is NPMB.com. About 90% whitewater kayakers, if not more. They tolerate my single bladed stubborness because my truck can haul lots of those little boats ;-).