USING KAYAK PADDLE ON A CANOE?

Can you use a Kayak Double bladed paddle on a canoe? I’m a beginner with 2 kids age 9 and 6. I have a inexpensive pelican canoe and trying to find out what paddles are best. I’m thinging a T-paddle that can Telescope since my kids are growing and may have a hard time with a larger paddle. What about a Kayak paddle how hard would it be to stear?

Hi Butch. Double paddle versus single:
Welcome.

Pamskee and others turned me on to a good double paddle from Mohawk for my canoe. It’s a great way to solo my Penobscot 16. Here is a link:

http://www.mohawkcanoes.com/paddles.htm

For a boat as wide as yours, the 108 inch ought to work well if you hang a center seat. The shorter ones if you turn it around and solo from the front seat.

Consider buying the tee handles too. Great price and gives you additional single paddle options…

Good luck!

Ditto
The Mohawk paddle is pretty decent when you need a double blade in a canoe. I bought the longest one they make and I’m pretty pleased with it. I don’t use it all that often but when I need a double blade it sure comes in handy.

steering
You will find your canoe much easier to steer with a double-bladed paddle. Because you are paddling equally on both sides, you don’t have to waste energy doing “correction” strokes, and back-ferrying is very easy. Narrow rivers may be difficult to paddle with a long double-blade, especially if a lot of low tree branches.

If you want a lighter paddle, try an
Aquabound Manta Ray. Mowhawk is a good paddle, but heavy. However the T-handle option is nice and the Mowhawk will hold up to kid experiments.

Thanks Guys
I’m going to give it a try. Thanks. I wonder why it’s so hard to find a double bladed paddle that breaks into 2 pieces and you ad the T-handle. I’ll order the one from the link you sent.

Lucky kids!
You’re going to need 2-3 canoes very shortly. You and they will have more fun if you’re not compelled to

be together at all times.