Valve repairs

I got in the wrench and a spare valve to try and fix a couple of valves on my raft. They are Summit 2 valves, which I have heard are tricky. That’s why I bought the spare valve, so I’d know what it looks like inside and out. I don’t think either of the valves are bad, but just misaligned in one case and dirty in the other case. I’ll clean them and line them up straight and hope that does it.

Anyone have advice? I’ve never done this sort of thing before. What are the tricks?

Oh, it’s a fishing raft, so that’s why it’s here. I don’t visit the Advice forum very often, so figured I’d ask here where I’m known and am unlikely to be insulted for not having been born with the innate knowledge and instinct for boat repair.

• Big D

doesn’t seem to be too difficult …
… though have never messed with raft valves personally .

If you unscrew the valve to take apart (seperate inside and outside halves) , the only thing I would suggest is that you deflate first so you can keep your hand on the inside part so it doesn’t go getting lost inside the chamber causing you to go on a hunt for it . You’ll need to hold the inside part both for loosening (seperating) and tightening back up .

It’s probably dirt/grit inside the valve preventing the seal ring from full contact that is causing a leak , but could also be that the inside and outside halves aren’t mating well through the valve patch hole itself .

Worse case scenario would be the valve patch itself is damaged at the center hole . That would require installing a new patch .

Mix some dishwashing liquid soap with water . Drizzle some around the perimeter of the valve where it contacts the valve patch cloth , look for bubbles . If it bubbles around valve body perimeter , take valve apart and reinstall making sure it is seated correctly to hole (look for possible splits at the hole) .

Pour some into inside of valve , if it bubbles there , try cleaning with alcohol and swab inside the valve .