Vero Beach Florida questions

Any good places to paddle?
Outfitters who rent kayaks?

Sebastian Inlet State Park looks like a pretty sweet place to spend some days. I’ve never been there. I wonder if anyone on here has?

I have been to Sebastian inlet, but not anywhere else in the area. I actually found the area around the inlet pretty boring to paddle - not many destinations or cool areas to explore. The inlet itself can be extremely treacherous and I wouldn’t recommend going anywhere near it unless you are an experienced surf paddler.

I definitely think there are some interesting places in the Vero area, but unfortunately I have no direct experience. Just too far for a day trip from here.

String, two suggestions - I am familiar with both services and believe they, and the paddling locations, will meet your expectations.

website_config1company_logo

They rent, and shuttle customers to the headwaters of the St. Sebastian River’s south prong. It is a very scenic paddle from start to finish, back at Dale Wimbrow Park where your vehicles will be.

Or, canoes/kayaks can be rented at the Environmental Learning Center (Vero Beach’s Orchid Island northern barrier island area known as Wabasso) for paddling around (in and through) mangroves and a beautiful little bay in a historical area of the Indian River Lagoon. They have guided tours or one can rent canoes or kayaks for self guided. No shuttles needed at the ELC. It is also a lovely 60 acre nature center with much to see there.

Regards,
Mark L.

Thanks. Good info. I didn’t realize but my brother lives fairly close and added some more places to visit.

The Sebastian Inlet State Park has a marina and a kayak launch. Unsure if they rent kayaks.