Versatile Solo

-- Last Updated: May-03-05 4:46 PM EST --

I am looking for a solo canoe that is quite capable of handling up to class III but can still handle the occasional 8 mile fishing trip which might include somewhat lengthy flat sections. I am a beginner with respect to whitewater and plan to take some classes to better learn. (could also use advice on Virginia whitewater instructors) I currently have an old Blue Hole Sunburst II that I have a hard time keeping straight. My J-stroke is improving but thought I might consider a new boat not out of necessity but for more fun. I've been looking at MR Freedom Solo, Mohawk XL13, Bell Yellowstone Solo and Novacraft Supernova. Does anyone have experience with these regarding how they handle Class II and III as well as tracking ability? I like MR because the IQ system would allow me to quickly outfit the boat for different applications and even add a second seat for the occasional tandem. Also, are shorter 11-13 ft. boats with 4-6" rocker that much harder to paddle straight? All input would be appreciated.

Supernova
I have had my Supernova in some nice class II stuff and she handles very well, both carrying a load and with just me in it(still a load :slight_smile: )

I have paddled the Freedom a little, but not enough to really talk about it. It is a little flatter on bottom and I think a little less rockered. It might handle a cross wind better although I have no problem withe the Supernova as long as I do my part with the paddle.

I think you’re going to find
That the things that make a canoe work well in class III work against it on flatwater. A narrow boat with lots of rocker will be nimble but you’re going to work to keep a line on quiet water. Lot’s of freeboard keeps a boat dry through waves and holes but when the wind picks up and the current slows down you’re going to get blown around.

All canoes are a compromise between speed, manuverability, dryness and windage.