VHF radio question

Because I can find no paddling companions where I vacation in Northern Michigan, I must either paddle solo or paddle not at all. I choose the first. (Please, no lectures, but see my final comment below.) I am not a total beginner, but I am a more-or-less novice, so I try to choose slow, shallow rivers. The few rivers I’ve been able to find that fit those conditions are way out in the boonies, with no one else around. This (the isolation more than the water) makes me uncomfortable, so I’m considering getting a VHF radio. I understand that VHF’s will not transmit if impeded by hills. But will they transmit through heavily wooded forests, as long as the forests are flat or no more than gently rolling? Also, is a VHF likely to be able to transmit in areas where a cell phone cannot?

I’ve looked at PLB’s, but considering the price and their intended use, I think that would be overkill for the environments/situations I’m likely to be in. I’d like to be able to contact friends, family, or local authorities, if necessary, but doubt I would ever need an all-out search-and-rescue operation. So I’m looking for something that’s more reliable than a cell phone, but less “big-guns” than a PLB. Am I headed in the right direction in thinking that a VHF is the way to go? Thanks.

BTW, I’ve tried using the “Getting Together & Paddling” message board to find a fellow kayaker…with no luck. But if you’d consider paddling the type of areas I’ve described–anywhere within an hour of Black Lake (basically anywhere in the LP north of Wolverine or in the UP within 30 min. of the bridge)–between early June and mid-July, let me know. Thanks!

who will hear you
A big question you need ask is who will hear you. Your range may be a couple miles (five miles or so in wide open water). The ocean and larger lakes with lots of boat traffic will often have casual and official folks listening, but not so in out of the way places.

Does the area have cell phone service?

Other option