Walden Passage or WS lookout 155

-- Last Updated: Mar-30-04 1:50 PM EST --

My first yak was a Pungo and I've been paddling for about three years now.

I went to my local outfitter yesterday to check out some new kayaks in the 15' range and within my budget.

The two boats that seem to fit the bill were the Passage and the Lookout 155.

My requirements are:
1. Ample storage above and below deck for 4 day camping trips.

2. tracks well, but can still turn in smaller streams.

3. be able to roll (since this is something I'd like to learn)

I took the Passage out for a spin and I truly like it. The retractable skeg is nice for tracking or turning depending on what the situation calls for. The deck rigging is a plus to carry gear.

I was able to get the Passage for a loan for a couple of days to see if it was a good fit. What concerns me is the construction of the boat. The material seems quite thin. I use a set of Hull-A-ports for transport, and I noticed today the the Passage already had some flat spots in the hull where the H-a-Ports made contact.

I recall that the Lookout seemed much stiffer.

Any advice? I'm planning on going back tomorrow to paddle the Lookout.

Don’t Know About The Passage
I have The Capelookout. It’s stiff tracking because of the pronounced keel line that runs right down the center of the boat. If you’re big enough (and comfortable enough), you can edge the boat a bit to disengage the keel and to turn it quicker. If not, rudder she goes. :slight_smile:

I was happy with the boat but I moved out of it in less than a year. I still have the boat as loaner for friends cause it’s pretty stable and it tracks well.

sing

lookout
why did you switch so soon?

Too Big

– Last Updated: Mar-29-04 8:58 PM EST –