Want to Paint Flowers on Old Town Otter

Hi, I am VERY new to the kayaking world and my husband bought me an Old Town Otter. It’s light blue and I absolutely LOVE it. It’s small and easy to maneuver.

I want to paint big pink flowers on it. What’s the best way? I was thinking just on the top and sides… and then I would like to maybe find a pink paddle as well.

(No, this isn’t a joke… I just want to personalize my kayak while I am riding around the lake with it.)

Any suggestions? Does anyone have any pictures of painting their kayak? Also… I assume it’s made of plastic… is that right? Any and all help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you so much!

Great idea…
I’ve never painted anything on a kayak nor seen one that has been painted…but I think it’s a really cool idea. If you give it a try, please report back on your results and what you used.

Why not put decals on instead?
I don’t know if you still can get them, but you used to be able to get all sizes and many with flowers.

On my old Perception Eclipse which only gets used a few times a year now, I had a bunch of stickers from many of the unique places it was paddled such as Glacier Bay, the Everglades, etc plastered all over it, and I always got comments on them and questions ask about the various places.

Unfortunately we got caught in a horrendous hail storm once, with the boat on the roof and the combination of hail and high speed driving ripped a lot of the good ones off.

cheers,

JackL

I second the decal idea
Here’s a site I found a while back…

http://www.kayakdecal.com/

Another decals suggestion
I’ve swapped e-mails with a woman who uses a CriCut scrapbook machine to cut vinyl stickers for her boat and gear. I’m planning on trying to use one for cutting some bits for my daughter’s kayak.

Don’t paint it - I have a friend who’s ex-boyfriend painted one of her kayaks. It’s peeling and crappy looking now.

stencils and krylon fusion?? NM

2nd the Krylon fusion