Wanting a kayak

-- Last Updated: Jun-18-09 3:49 PM EST --

Summer is here in Wisconsin, and I am finding myself wanting a kayak. I have really know knowledge though. I just want a fun boat for using on some small lakes and a river system that runs a few miles from my house. I'm a collage student so $ is an issue. The most I'm willing to spend is about $300, but the cheaper the better. I was looking at the Potomac 100ES Kayak at Dick's for $200. What are your opinions on this boat? I've also been browsing craigslist daily. I'm about 40 miles from the twin cities and so far there are a few listings a day. Right now there is a used Victory Blast for $265, but its about an hour away. Any ideas or suggestions on what I should be looking for.

Oh yeah. I'm 5'8" and about 140.

get the knowledge before the boat
You will find many boats that will work very well for your size. Its only natural to want to jump right into it but take a little time to learn what feels right to you. Check into demo days in your area. Paddle lots, ask questions and have a blast. When you do - ask about used boats. Many places sell their rentals and will let you demo them. I think its a mistake to buy a boat from a big box store that you can’t demo just because its within your price range. You should be able to find a used boat that is better for the same price. There are some sellers who want to sell something quickly and price it (too) cheaply. I’ve done that and gotten over 100 calls easily. The early bird gets the boat (usually with the phone ringing with others interested)- but it helps to know that the boat will be one that would work for you. Lessons at this point would also be worthwhile - or check into a paddling club where members usually have boats to lend on group paddles. Invest in the knowledge first - then the boat. There are literally hundreds of models, current and discontinued, that will work for your size. Good luck and have fun.

used boats = your friend
esp. if on a budget.