Water temperature

I’m new to this, but I was wondering. People always talk about dressing for the water temperature. But how do you know what it is?

Can you find weather data on this or do you need to determine this yourself?

Also, this is our first year and we don’t have winter gear. How warm should the water be before you can go out on calm water without a wetsuit.

Or is that ever possible. I took a rescue lesson last Aug. and got pretty cold, even though the air temperatures were hot.

Thanks much, I’m learning a lot by reading the information here.

Where do you paddle?
If you dig around the NOAA sites you can find water temps for major bodies of water around here and major rivers like the Hudson. If you are near the ocean, the recordings of info including water temps from the buoys are available online (marine weather).

Another rather good source is serious fishing sites - the temps are sometimes tracked because it tells them when the fish will be more active and accessible.

But it’d be easier if you mentioned where you paddle - not sure what works around here inland works elsewher.

Two possibilities
If there is a fishing equipment store near you, go in and get a stream thermometer. Or go to a pet store and get an aquarium thermometer that is weighted on one end.

Use a thermometer!

– Last Updated: Apr-06-06 10:56 AM EST –

No, really! For example, a group of us thought we knew what the termperature was on Lake George, NY and were shocked, literally, by where we put in, in the middle of summer, when a spring ran into the lake near the put in! Instead of 70 degree water, its was 45! One person had a strong gasp reflex and near panic. Could have been a bad scene.