Waterproof bags needed in Kayak?

Except for a few items that probably should be bagged for obvious reasons (electronics, stove fuel due to smell getting into things, and what not) how important is waterproof bagging for your gear when using a touring kayak? Is it really needed if the bulkheads have proved to be completely waterproof? Thanks!

Might as well say a bit about me since this is my first post. Obviously I’m very new to the sport and have been enjoying this site immensely since discovering it last weekend. So far my only experience lies with two weekend long canoe trips into the back country here in Central/Northern Saskatchewan (Canada), and one short kayak test several years ago when I was in Edmonton, Alberta (a Solstice GT which was a fantastic experience expect for the cockpit being a tad small). That was enough to be bitten by the bug. Ever since then kayaking has been a dream of mine and now I may actually have enough cash to buy one. While I don’t have much back country paddling experience, I am an able swimmer and am no stranger to being around water having grown up yahting every summer on Lake Diefenbaker since I was 5. Anyways, going to be testing a plastic Current Designs Storm this weekend and possibly a few others depending on what is being demoed. Especially looking forward to my wife trying one out since she has never been in one before. Quite a difference from a canoe, lol. :slight_smile:

dry bags?
for a day trip on a warm day, there’s probably no need for dry bags if your hatches are dry. on a trip however, why take a chance. you may need dry clothes and all of a sudden you may find your hatches are no longer dry.

Condensation