Waveski basics / rolling / advice needed on Merv Larson waveski

Sing, this one is for you - I got a ~1987 Merv Larson Design waveski (in frickin’ mint condition!) along with a older (90s?) Lightning whitewater style paddle and immediately took it for a paddle

1. Im amazed by how unstable it feels! I am used to a 45cm Fenn Swordfish in large open ocean conditions with reflected swell and off angle wind, but the board has a completely different stability profile I will need to get used to. I didnt unintentionally capsize, but wasnt comfortable either (and it was basically dead flat conditions). I suppose it feels better when actually planing, so you can lean onto the paddle heavily while carving, or just in general.

2. I intentionally capsized several times while I was belted/footstrapped in, as I know rolling in all conditions is of extreme importance to waveski, and I have no rolling background at all. I failed horribly as one would probaly expect your first time, and need some guidance about proper technique for rolling a waveski (and rolling in general).

Considerig I know very little about rolling, are there any particularly useful resources out there?

Looking forward to learning this new paddlecraft. The long period swell of the winter is too shallow to surf on the surfski in open water, but produces some impressive shorebreak I’ve been eyeing to ride when my skills are up to snuff.

Long Live the legend of Merv.

@sing