Waveski PFD

Hi.

Is there a reason why waveski guys don’t use PFD’s

I’m a beginner and l think I’ll feel safer in the surf with a PFD.

1 Like

Boat type doesn’t matter when you go overboard.

2 Likes

PFD’s are not required in surf or swim zones. For surf areas it might be because a PFD would prevent you from diving under a wave if you were in the water and off your waveski. Have no idea why they are not required in swim areas.

1 Like

I have a waveski (am horrible at it) but dont use a PFD, although normally I do for kayaking and canoeing.

Maybe it would inhibit rolling? Or roll you up to a side which you do not want?
Maybe because you surf to look cool and PFDs arent cool? (I suspect this is the answer) (also, the I mean the “general you” not you specifically. most surfers I meet want to look cool while surfing, or at least they act like it)
I dont think there’s a good answer. Wear one if you want!

“Have no idea why they are not required in swim areas.” … because you cant SWIM in a PFD? (at least not meaningfully, and in the surf you often need to dive under a wave). That makes no sense

1 Like

I was referring to the official USCG regulations regarding PFDs and vessels. Yes an oil tanker, cabin cruiser, kayak, SUP, wind surfer, and waveskis are all considered vessels by the USCG and almost all states. I was not referring to swimmers. If you were out in flat open water on a waveski you could be cited for not having a PFD, depending on circumstances