Wavesport Diesel 65 vs. 75?????????

Hi,

I have heard a lot of great things about the Diesel. I am thinking of gettng one.

I am wondering which size is better for me as I fall in the middle.

I am 5’8, 177 pounds. I am a novice whitewater paddler and I value stability (something I don’t feel I have a lot of in my RPM as the stern edges catch on my a lot).

For those of you familiar with this boat, which do you think would be better for me?

thanks

Matt

probably 165.

– Last Updated: Sep-15-05 10:04 AM EST –

Whoops... meant to say 65.

It also depends on how long your legs are. I'd sit in both and try them both out. The diesel is a great river runner/creeker.

You really need to paddle both.
You will ride higher in the water in the 75 and that will make ferries and eddy turns feel very different. You will actually have more potential control in the smaller boat but may find it a little tricky in the beginning. For example, it will matter more whether you accidentially lean back in the smaller boat. I personally like to be at the top of the weight range for my boats but others do not like that at all. YMMV.

BTW, I also think the Diesel is a good choice.

This makes sense to me…
I think that the smaller boat probably would be better in terms of control, but it would seem that the bigger one might be better in terms of stability. My RPM with its low volume stern causes me a lot of problems even though I try to lean forward a lot. I think that the bigger boat would be more stable and not be quite so edgey----probably better at punching through holes and haystacks I would think. This is important to me as well with novice skill base.

Matt

I like the 65 as a 170lb newbie