wavesport siren; waves and kids

-- Last Updated: Jul-03-07 10:39 PM EST --

My kids (12 and 10) have just started to Kayak this summer. They took a week long class and have done a 5 mile trip with small rapids and done some weekend flatwater stuff. Long story short they want to take their kayak to Myrtle Beach and play with it in the waves or at least in the ocean beyond the waves.

Something tells me this isn't a good idea but i'm not an expert - should I let em?

This is tricky. I have done a bit of it
myself, in canoes, but when a canoe gets whomped in the surf, the boat and paddler just get a normal thrashing. When a kayak gets trashed in the surf (I kayak, but only WW rivers), the paddler is hanging upside down and there is the risk that the head may be forced forward or back, with possible disastrous consequences for the spine.

When I was body surfing near Ocracoke, the guards were very unhappy with my prone position. They told me to either get a boogy board, or body surf on my back. The latter wasn’t entirely logical, because my head still could have been pushed down hard against my chest.

Kids’ small size may help them fall out fast and spare injury. After that the worst problem may be getting boat, paddler, and kid back out of the surf.

You didn’t say whether the kayak(s) have flotation bags, properly tied in.

Recently there have been strong rip tides all up and down the Atlantic coast. I think the surf has been heavy at times. So getting out beyond the surf to paddle around may not be feasible. Maybe you can take the boats, but look for a quiet place behind a barrier island for them to use.

How Well Do Your Kids Stay Within

– Last Updated: Jul-04-07 5:39 AM EST –

parameters set by you? Or do they push back a little?