Weathercocking?

Just got back from my first excursion out on Lake Michigan in my 15’ Dagger Cortez.It was a semi-rough day with some swells. It was the first time I felt I did not have control over my kayak. Finally broke down and lowered the rudder. I had a really difficult time paddling even when I kept the bow faced into the waves. I am not an expert on wind directions, though I am trying to learn. Was I experiencing weathercocking? Is this sensation normal to coastal runs? Thanks for your help.

Weathercocking
OK, I’ll start.

Weathercocking, as I understand the term, should really be called “windcocking”, as it is the tendency of the kayak to turn into, or away from, the direction of the wind.

Waves can affect your boat, especially following waves, but this is not weathercocking.

Wind can come up anywhere, so it is not necessarily a standard feature of “coastal” kayaking. Usually, larger expanses of open water have fewer features to break the wind; you get the full effect of whatever wind is blowing, so in that sense, you will experience more wind on open water than on sheltered rivers.

The difficulties you experienced could be any number of things, includng weathercocking. Perhaps your boat – I have no experience of it – doesn’t like bigger waves. Perhaps it’s just a skill and comfort level thing. I know I paddle in MUCH bigger waves today than I did several years ago when I was starting out. The boat is the same, but the paddler has changed.

All the best,

Darryl

In the Same Boat…
Liz,

I’ve had the exact same problem with the exact same boat (15’ Dagger Cortez). I’ve paddled for a while, but with this boat, I struggle when things get windy or choppy. Unless the water is very calm, I just drop the rudder. Using the rudder does have other advantages, like being able to steer when I’m not using the paddle, i.e. taking a photo or using my little handheld sail on windy days.

I like everything else about the boat, the size, the fit, etc.