Wenonah 18' kevlar racing canoe -- can we do wilderness trips in this canoe?

Hi there paddling community! I am new to the world of paddling but love it so so much! My husband has been a paddler for most of his life and I’d like to get a canoe for our family (of three) to do lake trips (with some portaging) in. I want to get the canoe as a surprise so am asking you for advice.

Someone is selling their Wenonah 18’ kevlar racing canoe and I’m wondering if this kind of canoe can be used for trips?

Thanks!

Very cool canoe but definitely not for that purpose. Light weight but too tight (esp in front), tippy and fragile.

1 Like

Thanks Kevburg!

Indeed, probably not. 2 highly experienced paddlers in a 4x32 mixer racer (or less likely a 3x27 pro boat with spray deck) could do ultralight tripping across small-ish lakes in fair weather.

If you’re talking about something like a Jensen 18 then yes you can do moderate tripping in something like that. Its a tad low in the bow so wave size needs to be accounted for, but its great to paddle and adequate for small to moderate water tripping. J18’s can handle many boundary waters lakes and routes.

So it depends on the exact “racing canoe”. do you have an exact model or picture?

1 Like