wenonah prospector 16

I am new to this page and I need some help. I am looking to purchase a canoe (rental rates and Disco barges are killing me…no offense ment for Disco owners)and was wondering if anyone had any experience with the Wenonah Prospector. I am going to demo one soon along with a MR Explorer 16. It will be used for day and over night trips on SE Alabama creeks and rivers as well as class II water in Georgia, Alabama, Tennessee, etc.(with kids). Any help would be appreciated.

Prospector
Hey Nuk;

I have a Wenonah 16’ Prospector in Royalex with wood trim and I must say… it’s one sweet boat. Easy enough to solo; great tamdem; will carry a good load in rough water; turns on a dime (4" rocker) especially when leaned making it a great river boat; tracks reasonably well when paddled northwoods style and all the while looking mighty good with it’s classic lines. Must be good since it’s design has been around almost a century. But… it is not exactly a beginner’s boat! The great Canadian canoeist, artist, filmmaker - Bill Masons’s favorite design. One great canoe and I highly recommend it.

Fat Elmo

prospector
Hey Elmo,

Do you have trouble with the prosp. catching much wind if your paddling light? Some of the rivers I paddle are wide and a good crosswind can make paddling difficult with some boats. As I mentioned I have paddled a lot of the standard outfitter Disco boats which are fairly flat bottomed and seem to slip in a good breeze. I paddled a MR St. Croix solo on the Okefenokee in a good breeze and didn’t seem to have as much trouble even with the bow riding high due to the solo. Also, does the 4" rocker (which would be great for the tight creeks) have a big effect on glide. I will be paddling with my two younger kids and some effeciency would be nice.

Interested in this thread