Wenonah vs. Old Town

Looks like I have finally narrowed down the search (okay, at least to the brands…)

We need a family type canoe, we do have experience, but only do canals, small waterways, medium sized rivers that may have a boat or two now & then.

Looking at:

Old town camper 16, Old town Charles River RX 163,

Wenonah Spirit II 17’, or Wenonah Aurora 16’.

All seem to fit our needs. I understand most of the canoeing terms but I guess if I can’t try all FOUR out before a purchase, I may have to get whichever one IS available to sample. Where I live

(far south Florida) almost everyone is into kayaks, but we like to canoe as we travel alot around the state camping and love to take our dog.

Any suggestions or pros/cons to these models?

We are looking at Kevlar which all would weigh between 59-64 lbs.

Thanks, Jo

OT vs. Wenonah
I would go with an Old Town. I have a royalex Penobscot 16 that I like a lot, so does my dog. My group rented a royalex Spirit 17 one time for a week in Quetico; I didn’t like in nearly as much as my Pen’ 16. The Camper model is very similar to the Penobscot.

I believe all the models that you’re looking at are royalex, not kevlar. My Pen’ 16 weighs 58lbs., I think the Camper is 59lbs.

If you go with Old Town, …
… I’d suggest you make sure you know you are getting a Royalex hull, rather than polylink or whatever other names their plastic-hull materials are known by. Old Town plastic boats are notorious for becoming severely warped out of shape as time goes by. Royalex won’t normally warp that way. In case you are new at this, Royalex is a multi-layer material (I think it consists of at least three layers), while plastic hulls consist of the same material throughout the whole thickness of the hull. Plastic Old Town boats typically (always?) weigh more than the target weight range that you listed, though.

Just to clarify…