Werner Ferrule three strike rule?

I’ve been paddling for 17 years now, Great Lakes, Atlantic and Gulf coasts. Now that I’m retired, the majority of my paddling is extended multi day tours, primarily solo, often in fairly remote locations. I have always used a Werner paddle (Skagit > Comano > Shuna). I have now had three paddles with the new ferrule over the last two years. EVERY trip I’ve been on with the new ferrule, I have encountered problems with the button sticking. (#1 returned to REI, #2 replaced by Werner, #3 my problem to live with…didn’t buy at REI…doh!) I simply can NOT depend on the paddle unless I keep it assembled for the trip. I have always (and prefer) to break down my paddle and put it inside my cockpit, under my cockpit cover for the night, so it doesn’t get stepped on, blown away, or used as a tarp prop etc. On most salt water trips, I can not spare the fresh water necessary to rinse and coddle the little “button”, on fresh water trips, I don’t like the fiddle factor, often taking a fair amount of time to resolve. I am religious about keeping the joint clean, and would expect a problem with salt build up, or sand, dirt etc., but I see/feel nothing causing the sticking problems, but know the curse of salt buildup whether visible or not. On a day trip, if I’m returning home or to a motel room and have the resources to perform the required fiddling/rinsing, not such an issue, but on a trip…a pain in the butt. Even had it come apart while paddling once because the button didn’t fully engage (that’ll mess with your day). Can’t imagine any kind of lubricant (even “dry”) will do anything but add to the problem. I know I’m not alone as I’ve read of several trippers who no longer use Werner paddles for the same reason. I sure wish Werner would offer the good old stainless snap button as an alternative (like Aqua Bound) Anyone have a simple fix? Not a theory, and not a procedure requiring extensive fresh water rinsing, warm soapy water, hanging the paddle