Werner Ikelos/Corryvecken?

Curious if anyone out there has any impressions on either of these two paddles. both are marketed for a high angle stroke, solid catch, while still allowing for linking strokes. Another in this vein is the Seaward NF paddle. Paddle a wing most of the time, and a Camano others, but the flutter in the Camano after the wing is very noticeable; it feels like a noodle. Interestingly, in some races, merely swinging a wing bumps you up into the unlimited class.

Ikelos paddle by Werner
I have been using the Ikelos for about six months now and am still amazed by how much grip on the water it has and how effeciently it is in rudders, draws and sideslips. I am a professional paddler and have used many different paddles over the years but the Ikelos is by far my favorite.

New paddles
I have used the Nigel Foster paddle and liked it. It has that short fat blade which grips well. Works best with a high angle stroke and feathered, obviously. The thing I liked most about it, and this should apply to the Ikelos too, is the smooth back that results from the foam core construction. Really smooth skulling, draws and rudder strokes without the rib in the back. It should be noted that the Foster Paddle has no dihedral shape to the blade face which takes a little getting used to if you’re only had dihedral blades before. Another reason it moves laterally in the water so well.

Why is the Shuna (supposedly) heavier??
Is your Ikelos, as spec’d on Werners website, close to 26 oz (all-carbon-straight)?

Being a larger paddle than the Shuna, I wonder why they spec the Ikelos at 26oz and the Shuna at 28?

(I have a Kauai (closest match to Shuna) that I bought several years ago - all carbon - 26oz).

If it’s a mistake on their webpage - it’s been there a long time.

Andy

Ikelos & Corryvecken