Wetsuit as Undergarment

Okay, I use a Kokatat dry suit on Superior, etc.

But, how about if I’m paddling a cold RIVER on a cool day and I fall out - would a lightweight Sterns short-sleeve and short-leg lightweight dry suit work well as an undergarment?

I’m talking chilly water (40 degrees - Michigan November or March) with cool temps of say 40-45 degrees F. Just wondering if I put a technical jacket over the top of this dry suit, then wore fast-dry pants (with backup clothing in drybag of course), neoprene sock/boots, etc.

I’m very warm blooded - don’t wear gloves in winter. I keep a small drybag with gloves, hat, firestarters, matches, et al in my boats for winter, but just wondered if the above would work well for an occasional capsize on a river…

Glenn

Wearing a wetsuit under a dry suit…
…sort of defeats the pupose. Wearing lightweight fleece is more comfortable and keeps you dry.

Thanks, but
I’m new to river canoeing, so…

You’re saying that wet fleece will keep you warm with air temperatures in the 40’s?

Or, would one just change clothes and keep paddling?

Thanks, Glenn

DRYsuit
If you have a drysuit that works properly, it is designed to keep any water from seeping in, so rather than wear neoprene under it, wear fleece. The fleece should not get wet unless your suit leaks.

To deal with the issue of perspiring, you should get something that wicks moisture away as your first under layer.

Yeah…

– Last Updated: Oct-08-05 10:41 AM EST –

I don't see any way that wet fleece, or any wet underlayer, can be useful in the 40's. Even under a wind blocking laer. That's based on my experience w/even full drysuits.