What are good kayak options for bird/wildlife photography

I’m an expert birder but I’m a beginning kayaker and would like to photograph birds and wildlife from lakes and slow-moving rivers. I’m gleaning advice on what kind of kayak to buy. To have the stability I need it looks like a SOT, fishing kayak would suit me best. I’m 6’3, 245 lbs so I need something to support my size and some camera equipment (think big lense). I also need to be able to transport on top of my SUV (thinking 65 lbs max). Some options I have gravitated toward include Native Watercraft Ultimate FX12, Old Town Next, Eddyline Caribbean 12, Bonafide SS127, Wilderness Tarpon. Right now I’m favoring the Ultimate FX12, but am looking for advice from those who have experience.

Going toward a fishing kayak does seem to make sense. A boat with a rudder, or better yet, pedal power and rudder, may also be good, so you can control the boat while your hands are controlling the camera.

Putting your camera and gear into dry bags or boxes would also be good.

3 Likes

Yes. I’m already counting on dry bags. My perception is that pedal power comes with additional weight, but I could be wrong.

1 Like

All of them.
Learn to paddle silently.

Pedals and or rudder he can control kayak and hold camera although birds react to movement also.

My suggestion would be go with an open canoe, Ether modified tandem to work as a solo or a solo.

I see wildlife photography as putting yourself in position and then waiting similar to hunting. You wont be normally paddling and shooting at the same time is my thoughts.

I modified a cheap tandem canoe removing the bench seats and adding in a central comfortable seat back. My reason was for fishing but I often have a camera with me as things show up. :canoe:

2 Likes

I really like the rudder when doing photography because you can hold the nose exactly where you want it hands free.