what do you think about this kayak

i’m a newbie to this sport… so far i have 1 kayak and love it… a perception carolina… i’m a craigslist junkie and keep an eye out for stuff all the time.

this popped up awhile back… i guess the seller is having trouble moving it and he recently lowered the price significantly.

would this be a bad boat for inexperienced kayakers ?

http://oklahomacity.craigslist.org/boa/2432677682.html

A step up…
in a sense! I’d buy it for that price. Looks like an old river racer, might be fun.

Hard to tell
Personally I’d not call that a touring kayak without perimeter lines, and it appears to lack any bulkheads or outfitting. But add float bags and someminicell foam for control, it could be fun for running down flat stuff for running down relatively flat stuff. My only comment is that it looks awfully tall up front - might be worth confirming if it is cavernously tall compared to your size.

check with whoever made this post

– Last Updated: Jun-10-11 9:14 PM EST –

http://www.paddling.net/message/showPrintable.html?fid=advice&tid=1203114

Kayaks of that era often had pretty small cockpits. You might possibly have to make a skirt for it, if it does. If you could I would try getting in it before you bought it.

If it is anything like the Lettman Hyperform kayaks of that vintage (and judging by the picture it looks to be) it will probably be pretty high-performance, i.e, fast, but not too stable.

See this: http://cornwall.boatverse.com/personal-water-crafts/lettman-hyperform-kevlar-kayak_68909.html

He says he’s been in it, but the skirt
issue could be tricky. The cockpit rim is high behind the back, then drops down at the sides, then goes up again. A cloth skirt, like the one the guy is using in Ontario, will work, but getting a neoprend skirt, that doesn’t need a committee to put on, might be another matter.