What else to I need to get started.....

-- Last Updated: Dec-26-05 9:42 PM EST --

I am a complete newbie to Kayaking.
Here is what I have so far, what else should I get before starting?

Items I have:
Wood Arctic Hawk Kayak (completed oct 05)
Cricket Design Greenland Paddle 86" - 19 "
Astral Tempo 300T PFD
Seal's Spray Skirt to fit Arctic Hawk
NRS Starter Kit: Mesh Bag with Pump, Paddle Float, sponge, Paddle Leash, Mirror/whistle
Smiley's Nose Plugs
Float Bags front and rear (plus Kayak has Bulkheads front and rear)
AquaMeter Sailor II Compass
Sealine Baja Deck Bag
22 liter Dry Bag
Things I think I still need: WetSuit
Join a Club and lessons Any other things I need?

From one MD’er to another

– Last Updated: Dec-26-05 10:05 PM EST –

The water is COLD...as in 30-40 degree range. If you are planning on going far from shore you will need a DRYsuit instead of a wetsuit. If you have a good eskimo-roll you may be fine with just a dry top. Dry gear is waterproof with latex seals and will keep water out. A wetsuit will allow some water in but will retain its insulative properties. When the water temp. drops below the mid-50 degree range, a drysuit will offer much better protection than a wetsuit.

You will also need head protection from the cold water. I use NRS Mystery storm hoods http://nrsweb.com/shop/product.asp?pfid=2029&deptid=942

You will find a lot of high quality gear at the NRS site.

maybe some
water?

Get Started?
You’ve already started. Put in the water and enjoy. I started with a $125 kayak, cheap paddle, and the desire to explore my corner of the world. Almost thirty years ago. Still don’t own all the accessories. Still exploring, though my world has grown.

The rest of the gear is nice, and may well be wise, but there is no substitute for throwing the boat in the water.

And, depending on where you will paddle, work on some map and compass skills if you don’t already have them.

Enjoy,

T

Wow