What GPS to get?

I’m fairly new to Kayaking and thinking about getting a hand held GPS, what’s a good one to get for kayaking? What’s everyone using?

We use them all
You are about to find out that it a GPS was made, one of us has it.

Please let us know more info. Price range and what you why you want a GPS.

Toys of the trade.

I have a Garmin 76CS

Richard

just started looking at them
I’ve just started looking at them, I plan to spend about $250.00, and will be using it to keep from getting lost, and possibly for mapping routes. It would be nice to have one that could transfer maps onto my PC. Also where do people get maps for their GPS’s?

Garmin 76CSX
You can read the screen in bright sunlight, it’s water proof, it floats, you can buy software to download maps from your PC to the GPS. It has an electronic compass and altimeter, although you’re not likely to need an altimeter if sea kayaking at sea level. The cost is about $350 at places like amazon.com, which is higher than your budget, but it’s the top of the line, I wish I had started there instead of wasting time and money on some of the ones I tryed.

Garmin GPSMAP 76 CX
The extra “S” features aren’t needed on the water - just cost a little more - and drains batteries a littel faster…

Great unit.

As I’m sure you know
Think of this as a friendly reminder that may save your bacon.

GPS is awesome. Best thing since pre sliced bread. However it should be used as a luxury. Be sure you are proficient in the art of using a compass, map and dead reckoning. An accurate watch, a quality compass and the skill to use both are prerequisites to purchasing a GPS. A GPS just makes things easier.