What is the best method of repairing scattered gel coat cracks?

Hello,
I know it may seem like a waste of time, but I would like to repair all the spider cracks I have scattered around my boat. Since I’m doing a repair and am buying gel coat anyway, I thought I might as well. The two main methods I am debating between are using a dremel to sand out the individual cracks , some light sanding, and then filling and blending with new gel coat, or the other option is just sanding until through where the crack was, which requires removing a greater area of gel coat. I’m guessing a second option may be better for a smoother blend but I feel like it may be more difficult on areas where I need to keep a shape such as my compass mount and I feel it may be over kill for some of the smaller out of the way cracks. Any thoughts on which I should use? Or should I use a combination.
Thanks for any advice! I am new to this

I would not strive for perfection because you are not going to get it. You will never get anything close to an exact color match no matter what.

Trying to gutter out fine spider cracks and then fill them in with gel coat that is inevitably going to be a somewhat different color is only going to make them more obvious. Nor would I personally denude a large area of gel coat and then try to replace it, but maybe you are better at getting a smooth surface and fair contour with gel coat than I am.

Personally, I would remove any fragments of gel coat that seem to have delaminated and are loose, gutter the edges of gel coat that is intact, fill in the voids with gel coat, and be happy with it. I have gel coated canoes that have exterior spider cracking that has not gotten any worse after a couple of decades.

1 Like

Is this the same boat as in your other thread? If so, I have questions.