what kayak for river camping

Hello,

I am relatively new to kayaking and looking to upgrade from my very basic 12’ Pelican to something I can mainly use for rivers and camping (storage and maneuverability). However, as I live in norther MI, I would like this kayak to do fairly well in all water types but that is secondary to river and camping. After doing some looking around online I have narrowed my options to the Evoke Navato 120 and the Wilderness Pungo 140. What is everyones opinions on these two kayaks, or any others, for what I am looking for?

Thanks for your advice,

William

Go with the
Pungo!

please describe better

– Last Updated: May-19-16 3:21 PM EST –

What do you mean by "all rivers" and "all water types"? If you are talking white water (rapids, etc.), then you will need a white water capable boat. But if the rivers are slow moving, then the Pungo (which is classified as a recreational kayak, so recommended only for calm, flat water within swimming distance of shore) could work.

Pungo
Rivers vary everywhere from large slow lazy rivers to fairly quick sharp rivers with occasional class 2 rapids. Lakes are everything from little ponds to Lake Michigan. My main concern with the Pungo is maneuverability on the sharp bends.

Thank you

Broadening your horizons
If you are going to do Class II and above and Great Lakes you need better choices.

Jackson Karma is great, but all of these boats have limited capacity so you need to pack light.

http://www.canoekayak.com/gear/going-rogue/

14’ with two bulkheads
Tent, sleep bag, mat, food, stove, dry clothes, water gonna fill every bit of that up for 1-3 days camping.

Unless you’re into minimalist camping. Some could make an argument it’s possible to go smaller but when our group goes that’s what everyone takes.

UNEEDA

– Last Updated: May-19-16 6:15 PM EST –

CANOE