What kayak to purchase

-- Last Updated: Oct-09-09 2:33 AM EST --

Hey,

I am a true beginner when it comes to kayaking. I have always loved to camp and fish and now want to really get into kayaking. I was wondering what would be a good kayak to purchase. Some of the requirements i need are:

Easy to carry/ get to the water
Something that can handly rivers and lakes in the Southeast- not a lot of rapids or anything.

Also do you think a 10' long kayak would be well suited for 20-50 mile overnight trips.

oh.. im also a college student so any advice that could help a slimmer budget would be greatly appreciated.

Borrow, and buy used.
Borrow any kayak you can for a test run to see what you like. Watch Craigs List, Paddling.net, and the like for a cheap used one and buy used. There are lots of deals to be found as the weather gets colder. As for camping, I like to use a canoe so I can haul more gear. And college campers often need a massive cooler because they get real thirsty, so a canoe in the crowd is a must. PS. how far southeast? I’m in southern VA and will let you try my hodge podge of boats.

check out classifieds here
and www.rivermiles.com has for sale ads too. Often can find QCC kayaks on there. Personally I would go for a longer kayak than 10 ft for 20-50 miles. I’m going to say 16 ft or more

first kayak
welcome to the sport. Things to consider: How to store your gear out of the way of paddling. How to keep your tent, sleeping bag, Oreos and coffee dry. Extra clothing, telephone, stove, first aid kit,etc., all adds up. Who will you be paddling with and what are they paddling, because efficiency and speed do matter on extended trips.