What kayak. . : /

-- Last Updated: Aug-21-05 7:00 PM EST --

Hello everyone, i am new to the site. I am 5'8" and i have pretty big feet lol, so i dont know about smaller kayaks just yet.

I have a canoe, and i like to go canoeing in rivers and lakes. Just recently, my father and i went from the beach off of cape cod, and went down a really long river, that had to be about 2 miles of a river, and the heavy current pushed us torwards the lake at the end, because the tide was coming in, but we went up river afterwards, and it was very tough. I want a kayak to take back to the ocean, and go down that river again, because it was really fun.

I am looking for a kayak that i can use in calm rivers, and some ocean, but not a whole lot. I also want to do some whitewater kayaking, although, i have never done it before. I think i would like a small kayak, for riding waves, and whitewater rapids. I dont think i can use a whitewater kayak in slow moving rivers.

can anyone help me out here?anyone have any recomendations for a somewhat cheap kayak that will last me a while?

If you are not too far from Plymouth,
take a trip up there to Billington Sea Kayaks.

They are good people and have a large selection to look at.

Also there is a pond right there where you can try the various models out.

Cheers,

JackL

thanks, what would i look into?
i actually thought about it, and dont want something to fish out of, thats what my canoe is for. I want something small, able to handle rivers, and whitewater. Any suggestions on something that is around 300?

plymouth is about an hour and 20minute ride, and about 60 miles away.

is there anything closer?

btw, im going to scarborough in southern RI this week, so, if there is anything there, id like to know, but, maybe not, o well, i will find a place.

thanks again

Whitewater