what kayak?

I’m relatively new to kayaking and my first kayak is a composite P&H Capella 173 (I’m 6’-3", size 12 feet, size 13 paddle shoe over my dry suit bootie). I can sit in the Capella all day and for big water stuff, the ocean and camping it’s awesome. I also paddle day trips on some local low flow rivers and backwater explorations where scrapes and carry-overs are frequent. The bottom of my Capella is getting abused.

I just purchased a used polyethylene Necky Looksha Sport 14 that I’ve had out a couple times. I like it’s length, maneuverability and suitability for getting knocked around but with the overall lack of foot room and spongy foot rests (rudder)that are difficult to find when my foot comes off it’s literally a pain. My left leg begins to hurt after an hour or so, my feet don’t like to be so splayed open under the deck.

I’m thinking of replacing the Looksha Sport with another used, poly boat with more leg room and without spongy foot rests. What boats should I be looking at?

Thanks.

why do you use the rudder?
Since your main complaints seem to be around the rudder in the Looksha I have to ask why you would be using a rudder in “local low flow rivers and backwater explorations.”

I admit I am not a big fan of them in the first place and never use a rudder unless I am out in coastal waters with following seas or with strong crosswinds. But I’m pretty positive even pro-rudder folks would concur that they are an absolute hindrance in such waters as you are describing.

Why don’t you try removing the rudder and the foot pedals completely and using fixed footpegs? Having the mechanism out of there might enable you to find a workable position for your feet and cheaply solve the problem.

good suggestion
Thanks.

Even with the foot rest bungies and the rudder locked in its saddle the foot rest moves aft when I take my foot off to get my leg a break. I spend more time and effort fiddling with the foot rests than I do paddling.