What kind of boat for a Moosehead trip?

So I’ve been kicking this around and thought I would put it to the community.

I’ve been paddling for several decades (I’m old :slight_smile: ), both kayaks and canoes. Nothing radical or serious (I would never dream of pretending to fit in at Watertribe, although I lurk). Moderately skilled.

My son, who will be 11 next month, is a pretty good paddler himself. Started early at 4 years old (with his own SOT boat), and now paddles a Necky Eliza like a pro (more or less). We’ve also canoed a bit, and recently enjoyed a decent whitewater canoe day trip. Doing the Allagash next month.

We have been talking lately about doing Moosehead next year, as in get dropped by seaplane at the north end and take 5-7 days to enjoy paddling back down to Greenville. I had originally been planning this as a solo kayak trip (in my 1998 CD Caribou), but now that the boy is getting serious about paddling, asked him, and he’s excited about the idea.

Just wondering. What would you guys use as a boat/boats? Two yaks? One canoe? Or a tandem yak? If the latter, I would assume something like a Passat or Tahe Maxi, and don’t mind investing in such a boat (would use it for many purposes anyway). What makes the most sense to you, for a mid-summer stroll down Moosehead, with a 50-ish man and an 11 year old boy? Assume we have good gear (we do).

Thanks,

JAG

I prefer two solo anythings
Because you can get away from each other.

But he is 11. And no way would I let my 12 year old grandson paddle alone while I tended camp, even though he is a good paddler too.

You might consider two solo boats with rules and towing practice just in case Moosehead kicks up with wind from the south and someone gets tired.

Doable in a canoe. Tandem kayak may be overkill and those things are heavy to bring into camp.

5-7 days is pretty reasonable for 40 miles. You have time to wait out winds which typically start about 11. But not if you are late sleepers!