What kind of Kayak to buy?

Hi

I’m looking for recommendations on what kind of kayak to buy. I would be using it at the base of the Housatanic River and along Long Island sound. I am a beginner - have been kayaking probably 10 times but have never owned a kayak before. I need something fairly light weight as I will need to get it from my garage to the river (about 150 yards) and do not have a car that could transport it.

Light weight can get expensive. Could
you use a boat cart for that distance?

What kayak to buy
If you can afford it, get a Warren Light Craft. Their line ranges from a 22-Lb 12.5-ft, to 36-Lb 18-ft. They are light, stable enough for a novice, relatively fast, and(the down side)very expensive.

Aternatively,look at Swift kayaks. Light enough and less expensive.

You need to give more info
-the approximate length?

• Your height and approximate weight?
  • do you want a sit on top or a SINK

-Price range?

-Sea kayak or rec kayak, (long skinny, or short and fat) ?

Jack L

Check out QCC
Many good choices there.

look at Pakboats
I’ve paddled the Housatonic and its gorgeous delta maze of seagrass where it reaches the Sound, also have paddled the offshore areas along that shore from Farifield and Westport to the Thimble Islands near Branford. SOme wonderful kayaking you have nearby.