What size kayak should I be looking for?

I am starting to look at kayaks. This will be my first one, so I am a novice. I am 5’11" 145lbs with a 32" inseam.

Living in Northern LP Michigan I will use the boat about 90% of the time on lakes and protected Lake Michigan bays. About 8% along the shore line on Lake Michigan and Lake Superior. Doubt we would stray too far away from the shore line unless conditions are perfect. About 2% would be used in slow moving rivers.

Once I have a size range nailed down, I can start looking at local retailers.

Thanks,

Scott

14-16’ . You have many,many choices.

Instruction/Experience
Go rent, sign up for kayak tour, class. That will give you seat time, expose you to kayaks.

I am not sure where you live, but Sleeping Bear is nice destination.

http://www.sbsurfandkayak.com/

With Many Choices in this size range
I would test paddle as many as I can from vendors/rental liveries near you to find a comfortable boat that fits you well and that you can grow into through practice on your protected waters. This site’s user reviews were very helpful to me. Enjoy! R

Old Town Vapor
Old Town Vapor was recommended to us for such use…We bought two and are very pleased with them…only 10 ft long and very stable…price was right too.

thanks
We are in Traverse City, so only about 30 minutes away from sleeping bear.

size

– Last Updated: Mar-31-09 9:37 AM EST –

Your weight puts you in the "smaller paddler" catagory, but your height might make fit an issue in some of those boats. You'll have to try a lot of boats on. Since you're fairly thin, you may also have to pad out the cockpit to get a good fit. For me the most important addition was hip pads to keep from sliding around in the cockpit.

Don't focus only on length. A boat that's too wide, too deep, or with too much volume for you will be harder to control.

A couple of MI events:
http://www.wmcka.org/symposium09.php
http://www.glsks.org/

Can you explian…
Padding out the boat?