What to do with this old "Mystic Aquaterra"

Hello.

A quick introduction:

I live in Western Pennsylvania. Go Steelers!

I am new to my kayak hobby. I have rented kayaks in the past. I bought myself a Riot Edge 14.5 this past Christmas. I haven’t taken it out yet. I’d like to be more experienced before I get near cold water.

Unfortunately, my wife passed away the week of Thanksgiving. I think being on the water will be good therapy for me.

My question is about this used kayak I recently purchased. It’s about 12 feet, and is marked with “Mystic” and “Aquaterra”. I haven’t found much about it with a Google search.

What do I need to do with this cockpit to make it a little comfortable?

The boat is old, dirty, and scratched up real good. But is otherwise in good shape. For $90, I think I got a good deal and it included a paddle and skirt.

It will make a good creek beater that I’m not afraid of scraping on the rocks, or a spare for anybody who wants to paddle with me.

If the plastic has not become brittle with age and UV exposure, it should work fine. Back in the era that boat comes from kayaks were much longer, narrower, and faster than today’s whitewater boats. In the early days of whitewater creeking, paddlers used long, pointy boats like that because that is all there was. Today, for any serious creeking, most paddlers would consider a long, pointy boat of that type to be too hard to turn, and posing too great of an entrapment risk.