When You Run Into Rough Waters

I think this is a question for this board rather than something I could glean from literature. When I read about winds in books, I get somewhat confused.

Being a newbie, I wondered, if you went on a long paddle where the waters turned rough, where it was not safe to paddle back to your car, what do you do? Or how do you avoid this situation?

I know there are sites like www.noaa.gov or www.iwindsurf.com to see what the weather and wind are, but I’m not exactly sure how to use them. Then there is www.weather.com which gives you more basic wind info.

I’ve heard mornings and evenings tend to be less windy. Is this true overall?

-Capri

Basic Steps

– Last Updated: Mar-05-08 5:37 PM EST –

You shouldn't be taking any long solo paddle trips over open water until you have enough seat and skills time to know this answer.

Get a weather radio, and/or a VHF with weather radio function, and listen to it the day or so before you paddle to get a rough sense of the weather, then again the day of earlier and again just before you launch. Stop and get an update again BEFORE you try any major exposed crossings, to see if anything has changed.

Spend some time listening and learning your region's marine weather, including buoy readings and normal wind directions if you are on the ocean.

If you paddle on the ocean or on a very large lake you will at some point be surprised by the weather or the tide or whatever, especially if you are new. At that point, you'll still have to paddle thru it to get home. Until you have learned self-rescue and rough water skills, your only uncontrovertably safe options are to stay within swimming distance of a landable beach, or paddle with a group who can get you home.

Boat control and sel-rescue are essentia

And