Where do i look for someone to go paddling with?

im fairly new to kayaking and kayaking fishing, just bought an inflatable fishing kayak a month or so ago, have had it out two days and i just really enjoy it but would be better if i had well someone to go with, been looking for a group/club in my local area and well just is not one to be found except this site which well it is what it is. i don’t think on here would be the rite place to be looking for others to well im not asking even though it did state under this category :looking for someone to go paddling with?" i take it that is if your are in the united states of America and im in the east coast of canada. yes i have tried looking on meetup.com nothing even close to my local area for kayaking meetups, closest one half way across country in Ontario, im not joining that one so perhaps might have to start my own or something i dont know. just for the hey of it im in N.S Canada.

Rule of thumb: If you need someone to go with you paddling, you’re not likely to go paddling very often. Some paddlers get a dog.

1 Like

Meetup.com

Facebook groups

2 Likes

I am in NS too. The local Kayak dealers may have some clubs, honestly I have never asked them. Taking courses is a good way to establish contacts as well. It was the same here for scuba diving, the more classes you took the more “buddies” your acquired.

https://ckns.ca/ You can look here as well.

1 Like

Added advantage in Oldboo’s idea, you know other folks to paddle with who know basic skills and probably know a few basic rescue techniques too.

I agree, which is why I solo most of the time. Dog’s gotta stay at home though because he sinks.

Dogs should wear an appropriate sized K-9 PFD just as a human should wear his/hers/its.

3 Likes

I do the vast majority of my paddling solo. Both kayak and canoe. Solo on popular waterways and solo on back county wilderness trips.