Where do you store your safety gear?

Total newbie, and I’m wondering where on your kayak you store the following;

• paddle float
  • bilge pump
  • sponge

I’ve got all of the above, and not sure where on my kayak they should go. Should they be readily accessible, or is in a closed storage hatch ok (forward or aft?).

Also, my kayak is a bit older, and does not have a holder for a water bottle. What’s the most convenient way to attach one? Don’t want it rolling around the cockpit.

Thank you!

Not in hatches

– Last Updated: Apr-04-15 11:35 AM EST –

Bad idea for when you are having an out of boat experience.

Stow position depends if I'm solo or guiding.

Solo - Sea to Summit inflatable paddle float clipped in behind seat, pump velcro'd to floor or under deck (depends on which kayak from the Fleet I'm in), sponge under deck rigging behind me

Group - 2 floats stored forward on deck, pump/sponge under deck rigging behind me

Water bottle = Kokatat Tactic Pack with hydration bladder.

See you on the water,
Marshall
The River Connection, Inc.
Hyde Park, NY
www.the-river-connection.com
hudsonriverpaddler.org

Safety gear storage
Thanks, Marshall. So… where do you store them?

As mentioned…
Not in hatches.

I keep my bilge pump behind me on the deck near the day hatch. Some friends like it in front on the deck but with my water bottle it gets crowded. Paddle float just rolled up somewhere in front but if I’m not alone I’ll be honest, I don’t bring one. Sponge I keep in my cockpit behind my seat back.

My solution
After many years and thousands of miles of paddling, I’ve only had the need for a pump one time, so I store my pump at home. I’ve never had a need for a paddle float, so I don’t think I’ve got one. I don’t use a sponge, but I do always have my trusty Sham-Wow, or the equivalent under a bungee in front of the cockpit. I keep my water bottle next to the seat, if I remember to get it out of my kit.

Most behind seat

– Last Updated: Apr-04-15 11:31 AM EST –